Sharne and family, May 2019

“what an amazing night, fabulous communication from the start, we were picked up at 10pm from our hotel and made our way up the mountain, Simon was full of interesting facts about what we would see and about mount Teide. The camera was set up and we took some amazing pictures of the milky way, the big dipper, the north star and even found my star sign (virgo) . We were lucky enough to spot 4 shooting stars, we left slightly earlier then planned as my children were very tired but again Simon was very accommodating and we had seen and photographed all we had wanted to. i would highly recommended Dark Skies as a unique tour to the stars, it’s a must for all astronomy fans , we can’t wait to see the photos!!”

Benjamin and Bridget, May 2019

“Simon provided us with an exceptional stargazing evening during our recent stay in Tenerife. Simon was an extremely welcoming host who took care of all our needs, including specific dietary requirements.

During our time stargazing, Simon’s passion and expertise for the night sky shone through as we made a series of observations via the naked eye, binoculars and telescope.

We would wholeheartedly recommend Dark Skies Tenerife to anyone seeking a personalised stargazing adventure”

Chloe and Tom April 2019

“Our best night in Tenerife

Our photography experience with Dark Skies was fantastic. From initial contact it was clear that Simon wanted to offer a tour that was exactly what we wanted – asking us questions around the type of photography we wanted to do. He picked us up from our hotel and drove to Tiede to photograph the night sky. Simon was very friendly and knowledgable about astrology and camera techniques. He has clearly met some interesting people and had lots of good stories to tell us on the way up and down the volcano. He let us use his equipment as we had not brought our own on holiday. Afterwards he was very prompt to share the photos we took. Thank you very much for a very memorable evening.”

Marie and Stuart April 2019

“Spectacular Stargazing Adventure

Once again the highlight of our Tenerife holiday was a stargazing trip up Mount Teide with Simon and Margaret Rowland, of Dark Skies Tenerife (beware of imitations). These guys are amazing, they absolutely go the extra mile to ensure an informative and enjoyable evening of stargazing and exploring the sights and colours of Mount Teide.
This was our second trip with Simon and Margaret..and once again we were blown away by their friendliness and their professionalism. This time we were treated to a double whammy of a spectacular sunset way above the clouds…then a quick de-camp round to the other side of the volcano to witness a quite frankly incredible full moonrise.
Simon’s knowledge and expertise made for a fascinating evening, while Margaret’s hosting skills kept us fed with a wonderful and tasty buffet, washed down with a bottle of Cava.
All in all we had a wonderful return trip with Dark Skies Tenerife and were treated like old friends by this genial and hard working couple.
Wishing you every success in the future guys and thanks for making our stargazing experience special, and we have no hesitation in recommending this company to anyone who is looking for a tailor made, private stargazing experience.

Marie and Stuart, Scotland.”

Gill and Steve, April 2019

We had an amazing evening and haven’t stopped talking about it. I have shared the link to your website with friends and family on Facebook.

George and Susan, March 2019

“Our wonderful tour


Dear Simon & Margaret,                     27th March 2019  

Thank you both for making the experience of Star Gazing so memorable. This was the highlight of our trip, and we are grateful to Charlotte & Ross for contacting you, and making this happen. We were impressed by your knowledge & enthusiasm, and for providing such lovely food and wine. Your good humour and consideration, made us feel very comfortable. We sincerely hope that your enterprise meets with success, and that the people you take, are appreciative of your efforts.   Fond Regards,  George & Susan “

Charlotte and family, March 2019

“Without a doubt, the highlight of our Tenerife trip – Incredible experience with wonderful hosts!

We decided we wanted to find a stargazing tour which was more bespoke than the group tours after reading reviews about having to spend time picking others up from their hotels. I went onto the Trip Advisor Tenerife forum for recommendations and was told by a couple of people to contact Simon from Dark Skies and I’m so pleased we did!

From first point of contact, Simon was incredibly communicative, informative and friendly. He was on email regularly before going out and told me we could coordinate the tour to anywhere we would like to go but due to his extensive knowledge of the Teide area, he knows the best places to see the sunset and watch the stars – I would highly recommended conversing with him on this.

We were picked up by Simon & Margaret outside our apartment in Puerto De La Cruz and drove through La Orotava into the mountains and up to the peaks of Tenerife overlooking Mount Teide. At the first stop we spent a wonderful time watching the sunset, relaxing with delicious home cooked tapas, cava & red wine whilst overlooking the most spectacular views ever!

Simon is also a great photographer and has his own SLR camera, which meant we were also able to take some high resolution family & landscape photos, which we can now blow up and frame.

I can’t thank them enough for providing us with not only a highly professional service but wonderful whole personal experience. Simon & Margaret were very warm, fun company to have there and Simon’s knowledge is incredible! We also loved all the various facts they both gave us about the Volcano, Stargazing and on Tenerife history too.

Our next stop was to watch the stars at night and look at the moon through the telescope. We were the only people there and it was incredibly atmospheric looking up at the stars. Margaret was a wonderful host and made sure we were warm, provided with deserts and made sure we had plenty of hot drinks & blankets later in the evening.

Their fees are also very reasonable and near the same price as the group coach tours – without all the fuss of picking people up and having the share the telescope with lots of others!

This is a perfect tour for couples, families of all ages and individuals looking for a really special, and more personally tailored, trip to Teide and evening stargazing.

We will definitely be doing another tour with them when next in Tenerife and look forward to seeing them again!”

Liz and Grant, March 2019

“March 2019 – had a fantastic tour experience with Dark Skies Tenerife. From word go they were professional and responsive to my pre-holiday emails. I wanted to find a private tour that would be flexible with my timings as we have young children. Simon and Margaret were so helpful in accommodating my requests. The trip itself was amazing. We stopped at a lovely viewpoint with Teide and other volcanos to enjoy a wonderfully prepared tapas picnic with cava whilst watching the sunset. When ready we continued on up the mountain to a high remote spot for our stargazing experience. Here we were treated to some knowledgeable insight into the sky above us. Simon used his laser pointer to describe the various constellations and nebulas and we also benefited from being able to get close up views with an incredibly powerful telescope. The commentary and insight provided us with a really good understanding of the night sky and was extremely enjoyable. Simon was knowledgeable and entertaining and the hours zipped by. I would highly recommend this tour. Particularly good if you don’t want to be bothered with driving round lots of hotels for pick ups and want a tour that is both informative and entertaining. Thank you Simon and Margaret. Liz”

Marie and Stuart October 2018

“Thank you Simon and Margaret for the most amazing night. Beautiful local food, thanks for catering for my allergies and hot and cold drinks. The sunset, stargazing and close ups of the constellations and planets was incredible. Your knowledge and enthusiasm made it even more special, I’m also sure I won the shooting star 🌠 contest. Can not wait to come back. Marie & Stuart x”

Ben and family July 2018

“Simon and Margaret took us on a stargazing trip when we were in Tenerife last week. Apart from myself, our group comprised my parents and my 6 year old sons, so it was amazing that Margaret and Simon managed to keep us all enthralled from eight till about one in the morning! It was such a memorable experience, my boys are still raving about being able to perfectly see Jupiter, Mars, Saturn, the moon’s craters and a number of constellations all within one evening. Simon’s knowledge and passion for astronomy are infectious, and he made it a point to help us sight and understand the major constellations, and pointed out globular clusters and other interesting astronomical features that we had no idea of previously. The boys were amazed at being able to handle real-life asteroid pieces, and we were all kept (too) well fed and watered during the evening. Extremely highly recommended for anyone with even a passing interest in astronomy, and looking for something more personalised than the larger bus tours”